Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teacher resources: SPC held Databases

Resources on information skills, research strategies, Web 2.0 and 3.0 teachnologies, apps

Electronic datbases held at St Pat's

The College Library has a number of subscriptions to Electronic Databases, mainly through UQL Cyberschool.  Logins and passwords are available from the College Library.  These databases may be used at school and at home.  Some have concurrent user limits.

 

UQL Cyberschool

Go to Database Access

List of databases: Select: NB - collect a book mark from the library for all current login information.

 


Ancient and medieval history online provides thorough coverage of eight civilizations - ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, and ancient and medieval Asia Most useful for: Ancient History.

Australia and New Zealand reference centre (EbscoHost) Content is sourced from Australasia and around the globe, combining newspapers, newswires, country guides, academic journals, magazines, encyclopaedias and reference books. With a quality title list, ANZRC provides local perspectives on current affairs, business, religion, sports, and many other subjects. Most useful for: all OP subjects

Austlit is a database of references on Australian literature. Most useful for: English subjects

Echo: contemporary issues  examines media issues and produces outlines setting out arguments for and against, as well as background and further implications.  Most useful for: all OP subjects but especially English (all), Religion (all), Legal Studies
Expanded academic ASAP is an international database offering balanced, full text coverage of a full range of subject disciplines. It incorporates many interdisciplinary journals, national news magazines.Most useful for: all OP subject

Gale world history in context offers researchers new ways of understanding the emergence of modern history and other social sciences. Most useful for: Ancient History, Economics, Modern History, Study of Religion, Religion and Ethics, English (all),

Gale science in context brings more than 2.5 million full-text articles on hundreds of topics, the power to share them and the tools they need to help interpret and analyze the answers. Most useful for: Biology, Chemistry, Multi Strand, Physics, Aerospace Studies, Marine Studies, PE, Geography, Home Economics,

Groves music online is the world's premier source of music information. Most useful for: Music, English, Histories, Art

Library Webs is a website dedicated to assignment specific web resources. Most useful for: all subjects.

Literature resource center provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of literary resources.  Most useful for: English (all)       

Naxos music library Most useful for: Music

Oxford English dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Most useful for: all subjects

Oxford scholarship online – Economics/Finance, Oxford University Press has an extensive list of publications in Economics coveringing Development, Growth, and Environmental, Econometrics, Economic History, Economic Systems, Financial Economics, History of Economic Thought, International, Macro- and Monetary Economics, Microeconomics, Public and Welfare, South and East Asia Most useful for: Economics, Ancient History, Modern History, Geography, Accounting, BCT.

Oxford scholarship online – Philosophy, Oxford University Press is the world's leading philosophy publisher with a list of famous books covering: Aesthetics, Ancient Philosophy, General, History of Philosophy, Logic/Philosophy of Mathematics, Metaphysics/Epistemology, Moral Philosophy, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Philosophy of Science Most useful for: Ancient History, Modern History, Study of Religion, Religion and Ethics, English (all)

Oxford scholarship online – Religion Oxford University Press publishes original scholarship in all areas of religion and theology. Topics covered: Biblical Studies, Buddhism, Church History, Early Christian Studies, Hinduism, History of Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Philosophy of Religion, Religion and Literature, Religion and Society, Religion in the Ancient World, Sikhism, Theology, World Religions Most useful for: Study of Religion, Religion and Ethics, English (all), Ancient History, Modern History, Economics

 

Princess Grace Irish library www.pgil-eirdata.org/ provides comprehensive biographical & bibliographical information on 4,500 Irish writers along with extracts from their works and commentaries upon them. IMost useful for: Study of Religion, English (all).

SCES Queensland law society www.qls.com.au  QLS created SCES to assist legal educators, secondary and tertiary students, community groups and interested lay people to gain access to simple, up-to-the minute information regarding the Law.  Most useful for: Legal Studies, Study of Religion, English

Back to TOP

Other libraries you might use

Don't forget that other libraries hold valuable sources of information.  If you investigate their resources, you will access extensive amounts of information.

Mackay Regional Libraries If you have a Mackay Regional Library card, you can search the online catalogue and reserve books, and you can access all of the online databases available through the Mackay Regional Libraries.

State Library of Queensland  - you can apply at this link for an e-services card to access the SLQ's databases.

UQ Library  - An extensive number of databases are available to walk-in students if you are in Brisbane.

CQU Library  -

 UQL Cyberschool is  a branch of UQ Library specifically aimed at senior school students - has a very useful subject directory which will take you to credible internet websites.

Back to TOP