Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Electronic databases @ St Patrick's College: Databases held at SPC

Austlii

AustLiiAustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute) is Australia's most popular online free-access resource for Australian legal information. AustLII is a joint facility of the UTS and UNSW Faculties of Law.

Most useful for: Legal studies, Study of religion

Australia and New Zealand reference centre (EbscoHost)

Ebsco

Australia and New Zealand reference centre (EbscoHost) Content is sourced from Australasia and world wide, combining newspapers, newswires, country guides, academic journals, magazines, encyclopaedias and reference books.

Most useful for: all OP subjects

Library Webs

Lib websLibrary Webs is a website dedicated to assignment specific web resources.

Most useful for: all subjects.

Points of view

Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database which provides more than 290 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.

Most useful for: Study of religion, Religion and ethics, English (all), Legal studies, Geography, Economics, Biology

 

The Sydney Institute

Sydney papers onlineThe Sydney Papers online provide background commentary from speakers at the Sydney Institute.

Most useful for: Accounting, Economics, Legal Studies, Modern History

Vrroom

Vrroom

Vrroom

Vrroom is an ever-growing set of records from the National Archives collection, for anyone learning to use archival records.

Most useful for: Year 11 English semester 1, Economics, Legal Studies, Modern History, Religion and ethics

Austlit

Austlit is a database of references on Australian literature. Bibliographic information for works of fiction and poetry, writing for the theatre, biographical and travel writing, writing for film and television, criticism and reviews and the people and organisations who produce them.

Most useful for: English subjects.

Echo: Issues online

Echo

Echo: contemporary issues examines media issues and produces outlines setting out arguments for and against, as well as background and further implications.

Most useful for: all OP subjects but especially English (all), Religion (all), Legal Studies

Gale Science in context

Sci in contGale science in context brings more than 2.5 million full-text articles on hundreds of topics, the power to share them and the tools they need to help interpret and analyze the answers.

Most useful for: All sciences and, Aerospace Studies, Marine Studies, PE, Geography, Home Economics,

Literature resource center

Lit res centerLiterature resource center provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of literary resources.

 

Most useful for: English (all).

Trove

Trove

from the National Library of Australian includes books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more.

Most useful for: English (year 11 semester 1), Economics, Legal studies, Modern history.

Cambridge Books

Cambridge Books online

Topics covered:  This group of items includes the Cambridge companions to... Philosophy, religion, arts, music, literatures. It includes the full text of each of the companions.

Most useful for English,English extension, Study of religion, Religion and ethics, Art, 

Gale Virtual reference library

GVRL

Gale virtual reference library

Topics covered: all subject areas. These e-books are able to be used by multiple users online. The collection grows regularly. Check for each assignment task. It can be accessed through the catalogue.

Most useful for: all subjects - OP and non OP

New Internationalist

NI

Covers issues of social justice, development in less developed countries, women, 

Most useful for:  English extension, Geography, Study of religion, Religion and ethics

Very short introductions series

Very short introductions series is available now. They cover the following subject areas: arts & humanities, medicine and health, science & mathematics, social science.

Most useful for:  all subject areas.